107.1 The Bull linkKFIZ News AM 1450 on Facebook
Listen Live to KFIZ.1 FM
KFIZ Closings and Cancellations in the Fond du Lac, WI area.  Sponsored by Airtech Heating and Cooling
Korneli Wisconsin
Parade of Homes 2018
KFIZ South Valley Weather Updates
KFIZ social network facebook and Twitter feeds

Newsletter Sign-Up

Captcha Image

Wisconsin Farm Report with Pam Jahnke   Fond du Lac Credit Union
Advertise with KFIZ.1 FM
Edward Jones   Jerry Schneider Band Polka Show 9:00 AM - Noon Saturdays on KFIZ

Marian Hall of Fame


FOND DU LAC, Wis. (SabreAthletics.com) – Marian University Athletics has unveiled its 2014 Hall of Fame Induction Class that will feature four additional members to be honored in a ceremony, taking place inside the Stayer Center on campus, Saturday, Oct. 4, 2014.

This year’s class includes: Jenn (Stolte) Vojta ‘99 (soccer), Brian Miller ’95 (baseball),Kyle Seyfert ’93 (basketball) and Doug Hammonds 1994-2011 (volleyball coach/administrator).

This year marks the third-ever induction class and will bring the total number of inductees<http://sabreathletics.com/athletics/halloffame/master/roster>to 15 individuals and one team, which includes 12 student-athlete, three coaches/administrators and the 1993 baseball team.

Each year has proven to be a huge success and the banquet ceremony is expected to well-attended once again. For those interested in attending this year’s ceremony, tickets will be $35 per plate or $280 per table of eight (8). Click here<http://sabreathletics.com/athletics/halloffame/2014-15/induction_ceremony> to purchase tickets to this year’s event.

For the first time, Marian will honor its male and female Student-Athletes of the Year during the induction ceremony. The finalists for the 2013-14 academic year are Erin Dunphy, Dani Huray and Brittany Syms on the women's side and Tyler Klein, Sam Koslowski and Max Richardson on the men's.

This award is presented to the junior or senior student-athlete that exemplifies a strong work ethic inside and outside of the classroom, while also displaying high-character values and leadership skills. Criteria are based on academic and athletic achievement as well as volunteer activities and community service.

More information regarding the 2014 induction class can be found below:

Marian University’s 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

Doug Hammonds

Took over a struggling women’s volleyball program in 1994 and subsequently built a powerhouse in the Lake Michigan Conference. Over his 10 seasons, Hammonds became the winningest coach in program history, compiling 214 victories, while making three NCAA tournament appearances. He led the Sabres to a stretch of five straight conference titles, putting together an impressive 89-18 league record over his career. His 2000 squad won a school-record 30 matches en route to completing their fourth straight undefeated conference regular season on the way to another NCAA tournament berth. In 2003, Hammonds accepted the role as athletic director, a position he graciously served until 2011.

Brian Miller

One of the most-decorated athletes to come through Marian, Miller was a two-time Lake Michigan Conference and NAIA All-District selection, including LMC and NAIA District Player of the Year in 1995. He was selected in the 21st round of the MLB Amateur Draft by the Philadelphia Phillies that same year. Miller left Marian with the second-best ERA (2.18), wins (22), innings pitched (199.1), complete games (18) and fourth-highest winning percentage (22-8), while compiling the most strikeouts (176) and most shutouts (10) of any other pitcher to come through before him. In 1995, he set school-records for lowest ERA (1.22), most wins (9), most shutouts (6) and most strikeouts (74). He led his teams to four straight conference titles and was a member of the 1993 squad that appeared in the NAIA World Series.

Kyle Seyfert

Stands as the all-time scoring leader with 1,983 points, which is 486 points more than anyone else in school history. Seyfert led Marian to two Lake Michigan Conference regular season and tournament titles and two NAIA District Playoff appearances. He was a two-time LMC Player of the Year (’92, ’93), making the All-LMC squad three times with two selections to the All-District team as well. Seyfert is the record holder for games played (127) and three-pointers made (328). He also holds the top-three single-season marks for three’s made, most points and holds the second-highest scoring average in a season (19.7ppg).

Jenn (Stolte) Vojta

The first four-time All-Lake Michigan Conference selection in program history, she left her mark as the all-time leading scorer with 146 points thanks to 58 goals and 30 assists. In 1998, she led Marian to an LMC tournament appearance and one of its best seasons ever after scoring 28 goals and totaling 67 points as a junior - both qualifying as single-season records. She added nine game-winning goals that year as well, which also marks a single-season standard.
Comments 0

Please remember a few rules before posting comments:

  • If you don't want people to see your email address, simply type in the URL of your favorite website or leave the field empty.
  • Try to be civil to your fellow readers.
  • Stay on topic. We want to hear your opinions and thoughts, but please only comment about the specified topic in article.

Post a Comment

- +

Captcha Image
KFIZ Phone: 920-921-1071
All content © 2012 Mountain Dog Media, USA
Web Design and Development by Wyld_Desyns LLC - "Take Your Business to the Next Level!