FDL City Council Elects New President and VP

Fond du Lac
City Council has a new President and Vice President. Councilwoman Karyn Merkel
was unanimously voted in as President by council members at their
organizational meeting on Tuesday morning. Merkel was first appointed to the
council in May of 2013 to complete a vacant term and was elected in 2014 and
again in 2016. In addition, Derek TerBeest was voted in as Council Vice
President at the meeting Tuesday. TerBeest was first elected to office in April
of last year. Merkel replaces Lee Ann Lorrigan as Council President. Lorrigan
has another year left on the council, but decided to not seek another term as
Council President. Council Members Catherine Block, Greg Giles and Brian
Kolstad were also sworn in at the meeting Tuesday after they won reelection
earlier this month.