FDL County Not Eligible for Individual Assistance Following Storms

A FEMA review of the request for individual assistance
following damaging tornadoes and storms in late August is determining that Fond du Lac County residents do not meet the
eligibility requirement for federal aid. 

Governor Walker requested federal
assistance on October 4th for several counties, including Fond du Lac County
Two weeks later, the president
approved the public assistance portion for
Fond du Lac County

Individual assistance through FEMA is provided to individuals affected by
disasters so they can regain a safe place to live. While there were homes that
fit the criteria, the majority of damage to homes in
Fond du Lac County
were caused by straight-line winds and tornado damage, and were largely covered
by insurance.