Federal Disaster Declaration Announced for Communities Hit by August, September Storms

Governor Scott Walker announced Thursday that President
Trump has approved a federal disaster declaration to help individuals and
communities impacted by strong storms in August and September. 

A number of
counties across the state – including Fond du Lac,
Dodge, Green Lake,
Columbia, and Washington counties are still awaiting FEMA
reviews for the individual Assistance Program. 

But Fond du
and Green
counties have been
approved for the Public Assistance Program – where FEMA provides 75-percent
reimbursement of eligible costs, while the state and local agencies share the
remaining 25-percent. 

Wisconsin Emergency Management, FEMA, and the US Small
Business Administration will begin to implement the declaration over the next
several months. Governor Walker says the state will also continue to work with
affected individuals and businesses to provide disaster relief.