Flyway Announces Football All-Conference Honors; Omro’s Wellhoefer, Lomira’s Johnson Earn Player of the Year

The Flyway Conference has announced its All-Conference honors for the 2021 Spring, or “Alternate Fall” football season, and one player from each of the two unbeaten teams in the conference earned Player of the Year honors.

Omro quarterback Ben Wellhoefer earned the Flyway Conference’s “Offensive Player of the Year”, after helping lead the Foxes to a 7-0 record. Wellhoefer had 116 carries for 1,294 yards and 20 touchdowns on the season, while adding five passing touchdowns for Omro – who finished the year as the top-ranked team in the “Small Schools” division of the Coaches Poll.

On the other side of the ball, Lomira senior Avery Johnson earned “Defensive Player of the Year” and “Lineman of the Year” honors from the Flyway Conference. Johnson was a two-way starter for coach Shane Obrigewitch and the Lions, who also finished with a 7-0 record on the year. On defense, Johnson led his team with 63 tackles, 14 tackles for loss and four sacks.

First Team All-Conference Selections on Offense include:

QB – Ben Wellhoefer – Omro (Unanimous selection)

RB – Jesse Weber – Lomira  (Unanimous)

RB – Blake Schraufnagel – Mayville

RB – Kyle Dietzen – Omro

RB – David Mueller – St. Mary’s Springs

WR – Sophonias Gengler – Lomira (Unanimous)

WR – Cade Stachura – Omro

OL – Avery Johnson – Lomira (Unanimous)

OL – Eagen Meisenheimer – Lomira

OL – Gavin Tanner – Omro (Unanimous)

OL – Easton Potratz – Omro

OL – Billy Schrauth – St. Mary’s Springs (Unanimous)

Kicker – Carson Bresser – Waupun

First Team All-Conference Selections on Defense include:

DL – Avery Johnson – Lomira (Unanimous Selection)

DL – Hunter Wondra – Lomira

DL – Riken Frost – Omro

DL – Billy Schrauth – St. Mary’s Springs (Unanimous)

DB – Joey Nerat – Campbellsport

DB – Jesse Weber – Lomira

DB – Cade Stachura – Omro (Unanimous)

DB – Isaac Hyland – St. Mary’s Springs (Unanimous)

ILB – Tony Gerlach – Lomira

ILB – Kyle Dietzen – Omro (Unanimous)

OLB – Matt Wolf – Lomira

OLB – Ben Wellhoefer – Omro (Unanimous)

Punter – Ethan Cole – Winnebago Lutheran (Unanimous)

Click the link below to see the full All-Conference football lists for the Flyway Conference