KFIZ Sports Scoreboard : 3/5/19

High School Hoops:

Flyway Conference – Boys Basketball All-Conference:

St. Mary’s Springs and Winnebago Lutheran each had two first team All-Conference honorees on the postseason honors list for Flyway Conference Boys Basketball. Mitch Waechter and Cade Christensen from Springs and Donovan Schwartz and Gabe Pruss from WLA earned first team honors. Joining them were Reed Gunnink of Laconia and Evan Gitter of Omro. All but Waechter were unanimous selections. Cade Christensen was named the Flyway Player of the Year. See the full Flyway honors list at KFIZ.com


Phoenix 114, Milwaukee 105

–Giannis Antetokounmpo scored 21 points, grabbed 13 rebounds and had six assists, but it wasn’t enough for the Bucks who lost to the Suns for the second time this season. The loss marks the first time the Bucks have lost back-to-back games all season. Milwaukee closes out their road trip with a 3-2 record – and returns home to face Indiana Thursday night.

CBB News:

Gonzaga and Virginia stayed 1 and 2 in the latest AP poll, but every other ranking has a different team listed next to it from a week ago. North Carolina is now at No. 3, followed by Duke and Tennessee. Kentucky is sixth, with Michigan, Texas Tech, Michigan State and LSU rounding out the top 10. Wisconsin dropped two spots in the AP Poll to number 21, while Marquette fell six spots to number 16.

A pair of Badger women’s basketball players have earned All-Conference honors from the Big Ten. Senior Marsha Howard earned second team all-Big Ten honors from the conference media, and honorable mention honors from Big Ten coaches. Meanwhile, freshman Imani Lewis earned honorable mention honors from the media.

A Wisconsin native was named the Big Ten Women’s Player of the Year – Megan Gustafson from the Iowa Hawkeyes is from Port Wing in Bayfield County. She leads the country in scoring (27.4 ppg), field goal percentage (70.4 %), and picked up her 82nd career double-double in a win over Northwestern on Sunday.

CFB News:

Jim Delany, one of the most influential figures in college athletics for three decades, will step down as Big Ten commissioner when his contract expires in June 2020. The 71-year-old has been commissioner since 1989 and established himself as one of the biggest movers and shakers in U.S. sports. He oversaw three expansions to increase Big Ten membership from 10 to 14 schools and conference revenues increased dramatically under his watch. He also launched the Big Ten Network in partnership with Fox in 2006 – making the Big Ten the first Power Five conference with a TV network dedicated solely to programming of league events.

The Big Ten Council of Presidents and Chancellors has started a search for a new commissioner and the Los Angeles-based executive search firm Korn Ferry will assist.

A Wisconsin Badger football player will go on trial on sex assault charges in July. The trial of Quintez Cephus was originally scheduled for last month and is now set for July 29th. He is charged with assaulting two Wisconsin students at his apartment in 2018. Cephus maintains the encounter was consensual.  


The Brewers enjoyed Monday off at spring training. They resume Cactus League play this afternoon against the Rockies in Scottsdale. Milwaukee is coming off an 11-5 loss to Cincinnati on Sunday and is last in the standings at 3-and-7. No broadcast today – our next Brewer broadcast will be Friday afternoon as the crew takes on Arizona.