Local Elections Shaping Up

FDL City Council Race

There will be four candidates running for four seats on the Fond du Lac City Council this April. Incumbents Lee Ann Lorrigan and Karyn Merkel will be on the ballot with Kay Miller and Derek TerBeest. Incumbents Brian Foster and Gary Miller held the other Council seats up for election. Foster resigned from the Council last October and after six straight years on the Council Miller has run into term limits.

FDL County Board Races

At least three Fond du Lac County supervisory districts will have new representation on the County Board following the April election. Richard Wetzel in District 7, Thomas Schumacher in District 8, and Ted Eischeid in District 22 filed non-candidacy papers. A primary election will be required next month for District 7 with three candidates; Jon Venhuizen, Sam Kaufman and Jay Graff running for that that seat. Meanwhile Bob Simon and Jim Eckberg oppose each other in District 8 and Brian Kolstad and Cary McQuitty in District 22. Other contested races include Joseph Fenrick will challenge incumbent Donald Skog in District 15, incumbent Lisette Aldrich faces challenger Arnold Baganz in District 20, and Mary Hayes will try and unseat Mary Jean Nicholson in District 24.

School Board Races

There are three candidates for three seats on the Fond du Lac School Board this spring. Incumbent Kathy Nagle decided not to run for reelection. Incumbents Elizabeth Hayes, Mark Jurgella and Peggy Breister a former editor for the Fond du Lac Reporter are the three candidates who will be on the ballot. In North Fond du Lac Pete Chisolm and Melissa Will are running unopposed for the school board. Waupun School Board incumbents Bill Bruins and Glen Wilson are running for reelection, but Roger Schregardus is not leaving one seat open. The Campbellsport School Board race features three candidates for two seats. Challenger John Stommel will face incumbents Deb Senn and Mike Weiss in that race.

NFDL And Waupun Races

There’s a little more time to file nomination papers for those who would like a seat on the North Fond du Lac Village Board. Incumbent Trustee Tammy Keller is not running, but because non-candidacy papers were not filed candidates have until 5 p.m. Friday to file papers for one of the two seats available on the board. Candidates who did file papers for those seats include incumbent Keith King, former school board president John Duffy, and Marty Schroeder who serves on the County Board. In Waupun Mayor Kyle Clark is running uncontested. Waupun Common Council members Julie Kaczmarski and Nancy Vanderkin are unopposed. Incumbent Steve Bastian is not running for reelection, but Mike Matoushek is running for that District Four seat.