Marian Announces Faculty/Staff Award Recipients

The annual Faculty and
Staff Recognition Ceremony for Marian University, usually held in spring, is being moved to run in
conjunction with the faculty and staff Fall in-service, but the recipients of those awards have been announced.


Jennifer Schultz, an
assistant professor of Psychology, will receive the James Underkolfer
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, which requires that the recipient
“demonstrate outstanding performance and excellence in undergraduate teaching”
as well as “reflect the college’s mission, purpose, and commitment.” Schultz began
teaching at Marian in 2008, and began teaching full-time in 2015, preparing and
teaching a total of 15 different classes, ranging from GEN 101, SOC 101, and regular
offerings in the Psychology curriculum, to specialized upper-level courses like
Field Experience and Senior Seminar in Psychology.


Amy Hennings, associate
professor and Psychology program chair, was awarded the Academic Advising
Excellence Award. This award identifies positive role models for Marian
students and acknowledges the importance the role academic advising plays in
the University’s mission and core values and in students’ success.


Pat Immel, administrative coordinator
in the Department of Nursing, received the Staff of the Year award. The Staff
of the Year award is given to an individual who makes exceptional contributions
to the Marian University community in the areas of
inspirational focus, community and service, innovation, and proactive
leadership and learning.


Jodie Ausloos, who teaches in
the College of the Professions, and Mark Lafrenz, who teaches under Adult and
Online Studies, were given Adjunct Teacher of the Year Awards.