Marian Hall of Fame

FOND DU LAC, Wis. ( – Marian University Athletics has unveiled
its 2014 Hall of Fame Induction Class that will feature four additional members
to be honored in a ceremony, taking place inside the Stayer Center on campus,
Saturday, Oct. 4, 2014.

This year’s class includes: Jenn (Stolte) Vojta
‘99 (soccer), Brian Miller ’95 (baseball),Kyle Seyfert ’93 (basketball) and Doug
Hammonds 1994-2011 (volleyball coach/administrator).

This year marks the
third-ever induction class and will bring the total number of inductees<>to
15 individuals and one team, which includes 12 student-athlete, three
coaches/administrators and the 1993 baseball team.

Each year has proven
to be a huge success and the banquet ceremony is expected to well-attended once
again. For those interested in attending this year’s ceremony, tickets will be
$35 per plate or $280 per table of eight (8). Click here<>
to purchase tickets to this year’s event.

For the first time, Marian will
honor its male and female Student-Athletes of the Year during the induction
ceremony. The finalists for the 2013-14 academic year are Erin Dunphy, Dani
Huray and Brittany Syms on the women’s side and Tyler Klein, Sam Koslowski and
Max Richardson on the men’s.

This award is presented to the junior or
senior student-athlete that exemplifies a strong work ethic inside and outside
of the classroom, while also displaying high-character values and leadership
skills. Criteria are based on academic and athletic achievement as well as
volunteer activities and community service.

More information regarding
the 2014 induction class can be found below:

Marian University’s 2014
Hall of Fame Inductees

Doug Hammonds

Took over a struggling
women’s volleyball program in 1994 and subsequently built a powerhouse in the
Lake Michigan Conference. Over his 10 seasons, Hammonds became the winningest
coach in program history, compiling 214 victories, while making three NCAA
tournament appearances. He led the Sabres to a stretch of five straight
conference titles, putting together an impressive 89-18 league record over his
career. His 2000 squad won a school-record 30 matches en route to completing
their fourth straight undefeated conference regular season on the way to another
NCAA tournament berth. In 2003, Hammonds accepted the role as athletic director,
a position he graciously served until 2011.


One of the most-decorated athletes to come through Marian, Miller
was a two-time Lake Michigan Conference and NAIA All-District selection,
including LMC and NAIA District Player of the Year in 1995. He was selected in
the 21st round of the MLB Amateur Draft by the Philadelphia Phillies that same
year. Miller left Marian with the second-best ERA (2.18), wins (22), innings
pitched (199.1), complete games (18) and fourth-highest winning percentage
(22-8), while compiling the most strikeouts (176) and most shutouts (10) of any
other pitcher to come through before him. In 1995, he set school-records for
lowest ERA (1.22), most wins (9), most shutouts (6) and most strikeouts (74). He
led his teams to four straight conference titles and was a member of the 1993
squad that appeared in the NAIA World Series.


Stands as the all-time scoring leader with 1,983 points, which is
486 points more than anyone else in school history. Seyfert led Marian to two
Lake Michigan Conference regular season and tournament titles and two NAIA
District Playoff appearances. He was a two-time LMC Player of the Year (’92,
’93), making the All-LMC squad three times with two selections to the
All-District team as well. Seyfert is the record holder for games played (127)
and three-pointers made (328). He also holds the top-three single-season marks
for three’s made, most points and holds the second-highest scoring average in a
season (19.7ppg).

Jenn (Stolte) Vojta

The first four-time
All-Lake Michigan Conference selection in program history, she left her mark as
the all-time leading scorer with 146 points thanks to 58 goals and 30 assists.
In 1998, she led Marian to an LMC tournament appearance and one of its best
seasons ever after scoring 28 goals and totaling 67 points as a junior – both
qualifying as single-season records. She added nine game-winning goals that year
as well, which also marks a single-season standard.