Marian Student Nurses’ Association Receives State Awards

FOND DU LAC, Wis. – Twelve nursing students from Marian University represented the Marian University Student Nurses’ Association (MUSNA) at the 69th Annual Convention of the Wisconsin Student Nurses’ Association (WNSA), which was held February 9 – 11 in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The convention gave students an opportunity to network with other nursing students from around the state, to participate in the business of the organization, to speak with potential employers, and to attend educationally-focused sessions on a wide variety of nursing topics.


At the convention, MUSNA received The Chapter Achievement Award, which is awarded to a nursing school chapter for their outstanding achievements and progress during the current school year based on involvement at the national, state, and chapter levels


“This award illustrates how dedicated and active MUSNA is in comparison to the other nursing schools in the state,” says Nancy Noble, associate professor of Nursing and MUSNA co-advisor. “MUSNA is an organization that works hard to maintain its reputation for being an active and professional organization that strives to meet its goals and mission and thus promote the values of Marian University.”


Adam Vinz, a senior nursing student, won the Leaders of Leaders Award. This award recognizes an outstanding chapter president for leadership and involvement in the Student Nurses Association’s Chapter. He has served as co-president of MUSNA for the last two years. Aliece Kerscher, a Marian senior nursing student, was elected to be the President of Wisconsin Student Nurses Association (WSNA) for 2018-19.


Marian University was founded in 1936 by the Congregation of Sisters of St. Agnes in Fond du Lac, Wis. The institution has one of the lowest student-faculty ratios in the state, and strives to live its core values as a community committed to learning, dedicated to service and social justice and joined together by spiritual traditions. Marian offers undergraduate, adult, master’s and doctoral degree programs at its main campus and in facilities throughout Wisconsin.