Shopko Formally Notifies State of 11 Store Closures

Shopko has formally notified the state of its plan to close
11 stores in Wisconsin, which will result in 578 people losing their jobs. The
closures will be effective May 6th. The 11 stores the retailer
submitted to the state Wednesday include locations in Beloit, De Pere, Delavan,
Kenosha, Kimberly, Marinette, Monona, Racine, Rhinelander, Sheboygan and Watertown.
Caleb Frostman, the nominee to lead the state’s Department of Workforce
Development said the closures will “undoubtedly change the fabric of multiple
Wisconsin communities”, and added that the DWD has been working with Shopko
officials “to coordinate and provide rapid response services to the workers affected
by all Shopko closings – including those previously reported by the media and
the 11 DWD received notice of today.” Earlier this month, Shopko identified 250
stores that it’s closing, or has already closed, nationwide.