Sports : Monday, 1/23/17


NFC Championship Game:

Atlanta 44, Green Bay 21.

Matt Ryan threw for 392 yards and four touchdowns as the red hot Atlanta Falcons crushed the Packers 44-21 to advance to Super Bowl 51 in Houston. The Falcons led 24-0 at halftime and 31-0 before the Packers found the end zone for the first time on a short touchdown reception by Davante Adams. The Packers got as close as 37-15 at the end of the third quarter, but a touchdown by Tevin Coleman early in the fourth quarter extended the lead again for Atlanta. The Packers defense had no answer for Atlanta receiver Julio Jones who caught 9 passes for 180 yards and two touchdowns in the win.

For the Packers, Aaron Rodgers passed for 287 yards, three touchdowns and one interception. Randall Cobb led the team in receiving with 6 catches for 82 yards. Jared Cook and Jordy Nelson along with Davante Adams caught touchdowns from Rodgers. Rodgers led the Packers in rushing with four carries for 46 yards. Green Bay sees its 8-game winning streak snapped in the loss.

AFC Championship:

The New England Patriots are the first team in NFL history to reach the Super Bowl nine times following their 36-17 rout of Pittsburgh in the AFC championship game. Chris Hogan grabbed two of Tom Brady’s three touchdown passes and finished with nine receptions for 180 yards. Brady also hit Julian Edelman for a TD and was 32 of 42 for 384 yards, three touchdowns and no interceptions.

Larry Fitzgerald, Eli Manning and Greg Olsen have been chosen as finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award that recognizes an athlete’s contribution to the sport and to society. The winner among the Arizona Cardinals wide receiver, New York Giants quarterback and Carolina Panthers tight end will be announced on Feb. 4, the night before the Super Bowl, at NFL Honors in Houston. The Associated Press individual NFL awards also will be handed out then, on the eve of the Super Bowl. A total of $1 million will be donated in the name of the Man of the Year, with $500,000 going to a charity of his choice and $500,000 supporting the expansion of Character Playbook across all NFL markets. The two runners-up will each receive a $125,000 donation to the charity of their choice and a $125,000 donation in their names to expand Character Playbook, a digital learning initiative. The 2015 winner was Anquan Boldin

Men’s College Basketball:

Big Ten:

Northwestern 74, Ohio State 72

Horizon League:

Milwaukee 94, Youngstown State 85 (OT)

From Baseball:

Royals pitcher Yordano Ventura was killed in a car crash in his native Dominican Republic early Sunday. Ventura went 14-10 with a 3.20 ERA in 2014, his first full season in the big leagues. He helped the Royals reach the World Series that year and then win the Fall Classic the next season.Royals vice president Mike Swanson confirmed Ventura’s death. He was 25. Authorities in the Dominican Republic also report that former major leaguer Andy Marte died in a separate traffic accident. He had played baseball in Korea the last two seasons.

Sports on the air tonight, the Bucks look to snap a five-game skid as they host Houston. Coverage begins at 7 following the final edition of In the Huddle for the season on KFIZ.