Sports : Wednesday, 11/30/16

High School Results from Tuesday night:

Boys Basketball:

Menomonee Falls 81, Fond du Lac 61. Caleb Goldstein leads the Cardinals with 13 points.

Markesan 74, North Fond du Lac 57

Laconia 65, Oshkosh Lourdes 43

Ripon 69, Lomira 48

Wrightstown 64, Chilton 25

Madison Abundant Life/St. Ambrose 51, St. Lawrence Seminary 46


Kimberly 62, Fond du Lac 52. Ally Gietzel with 28 points for the Cardinals.

Campbellsport 57, Winneconne 48

Waupun 67, Berlin 21

Ripon 64, Kewaskum 55

Pardeeville 62, Oakfield 38

Mayville 68, Hartford 31

Central Wisconsin Christian 59, Cambria-Friesland 26

Boys Hockey:

Homestead 5, St. Mary’s Springs 1

Milwaukee Marquette 5, Fond du Lac 0

Waupun 1, Beaver Dam 1

Boys Swimming: Fond du Lac places second in a triangular with Sheboygan North and Kiel, Cardinals score 121 points and win 8 of 12 events.

Men’s College Basketball:

Wisconsin improves to 6-2 with a 77-60 win over Syracuse at the Kohl Center. Ethan Happ with 24 points and 13 assists. Bronson Koenig added 20 points.

Big Ten/ACC Challenge  Illinois 88, NC State 74, Notre Dame 92, Iowa 78, Penn State 67, Georgia Tech 60, Pittsburgh 73, Maryland 59 and Duke 78, Michigan State 69.

The challenge is tied at four going into tonight’s action, where Virginia Tech visits Michigan, Purdue is at Louisville, Rutgers plays at Miami, Nebraska is at Clemson, North Carolina visits Indiana, and Ohio State is on the road at Virginia.

Women’s College Basketball: Marian 61, Maranatha Baptist 45

NBA: Milwaukee 118, Cleveland 101. Giannis Antetokounmpo with 34 points, 12 rebounds as the Bucks pull back to .500 at 8-8. Jabari Parker had 18, Michael Beasley had 17 in the win.

College Football: Badgers head coach Paul Chryst was named the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year by the Big Ten Conference Coaches. James Franklin of Penn State won the Dave McClain Coach of the Year award that is handed out by Big Ten media. Big Ten coaches named Linebacker TJ Watt a first team all-conference selection, teammate Vince Biegel a second team all-conference linebacker and defensive end Sojourn Shelton a second team defensive back. Defensive Lineman Connor Sheehy was named a third team lineman. The Media voted Watt and Shelton as first teamers, and Biegel, D’Cota Dixon and Leo Musso as third teamers. All-conference teams on offense will be announced tonight.

The Milwaukee Brewers have signed free agent Eric Thames who spent the last three seasons in Korea, and designated slugging first baseman Chris Carter for assignment. Carter tied for the National League lead in home runs with 41 in 2016, his one season with the Brewers. He is eligible for arbitration. Carter will apparently be replaced by Thames, a first baseman-outfielder who signed a three-year contract with a club option for 2020. The 30 year-old Thames hit .348 with 124 home runs, 379 RBIs and 64 steals in 388 games with NC Dinos of the Korean Baseball Organization. General manager David Stearns said Thames’ left-handed bat and versatility was a good fit in the lineup for the rebuilding club.