State Senate Leadership Remains

There will not be much change for Republican Party
leadership in the Wisconsin state senate.
Senator Scott Fitzgerald of Juneau
was re-elected as majority leader, just days after Republicans picked up a seat
over Democrats. Fitzgerald was a unanimous choice, running unopposed for the
position he’s held since 2011.

Senator Roger Roth of Appleton will also continue as Senate
President for the next two years. Republicans will return to session in 2019
with a 19-14 majority in the Senate, but will now have to work with a
Democratic governor who has the power to veto any bills passed by the

Democratic Senator Jennifer Shilling of La Crosse was re-elected as minority leader.
The Legislature will return for a lame duck session later this month or next.