UW FDL Names Kaplan Award Winners

The University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac has named its 2014-15 Kaplan Award recipients.

This award recognizes individuals or teams for significant and innovative improvement in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $500 grant. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Professors Richard Gustin, communication and theater arts; Paisley Harris, history; Michaela Nowell, sociology; Lisa Schreibersdorf, English; and Kristi Wilkum, communication and theater arts share the award this year for the “Surviving the Cycle” community service learning project.

“The Kaplan awards are a great honor and signify major accomplishments by the faculty and staff on our campus,” said John Short, UW-Fond du Lac dean and CEO. “These members of our campus community demonstrate creative approaches to student learning and success as well as the commitment to professionalism and best practices in higher education.”

UW-Fond du Lac is part of the UW System and one of the thirteen campuses of the UW Colleges. Kaplan Awards are presented at each of the thirteen UW Colleges campuses.