WFCA Announces All-State Teams; FDL’s Walljasper, Lomira’s Johnson Earn “Player of the Year” Honors

The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association announced its All State and Player of the Year awards for 2020 and 2021 on Monday, and several Fond du Lac area athletes were honored for their hard work during the split football season. 

In the “Large Schools” division, the state’s Offensive Player of the Year is none other than Fond du Lac High School’s own Kyle Walljasper. Walljasper used his skills as a dual threat quarterback to lead Fondy to a 7-0 record in the spring season, including a 71-47 triumph over Kimberly in the Fox Valley Classic Championship. In 2021, Walljasper carried the ball 77 times for 1,467 yards – averaging 19.1 yards per carry – and ran for 21 touchdowns, adding 769 yards passing and nine touchdowns through the air. He ran for 306 yards on just 15 carries, and scored five touchdowns in the rout of Kimberly in the season finale. 

Other first team All-State honors for Fond du Lac went to: 

Braelon Allen – Running Back & Defensive Back

Levi Liedke – Offensive Line

Honorable Mention All-State honors for Fond du Lac went to: 

Logan Graf – Defensive End

Sam Wood – Defensive End

Kyle Walljasper – Inside Linebacker

Tyler Van De Slunt – Outside Linebacker

Tyler Collien – Wide Receiver

Louis Wagner-Lang – Tight End/Fullback

Muskego’s Hunter Wohler was named the Defensive Player of the Year in the “Large Schools” division. 


In the “Small Schools” division, Lomira senior defensive end Avery Johnson was named the Defensive Player of the Year by the WFCA. Johnson recorded 63 total tackles, 14 tackles for loss and four sacks for the Lions in the 2021 spring season, helping Lomira finish with a 7-0 record. Johnson was a two-way honoree, also receiving first team All-State honors on the offensive line. 

Other first team honors went to:

Billy Schrauth – St. Mary’s Springs – Offensive Line & Defensive Line

Ben Wellhoefer – Omro – Running Back & Outside Linebacker

Cade Stachura – Omro – Defensive Back

Quarterback Adam Moen from Lake Mills was named the Offensive Player of the Year in the Small Schools division. 

Area players earning Honorable Mention All-State honors include: 

Isaac Leonard – Laconia – Defensive Line

Jesse Weber – Lomira – Defensive Back

Sam Casper – New Holstein – Defensive End

Michael Volz – New Holstein – Running Back

Ryan Freund – Kiel – Kicker

Kyle Dietzen – Omro – Inside Linebacker


In 8-player football, Oakfield’s Blake Justmann received first team All-State honors from the WFCA at Defensive End. Justmann totaled 31 tackles, two tackles for loss and had six sacks for the Oaks in the spring season. 

Belmont’s Riley Christensen was named the 8-Player “Player of the Year” by the WFCA.

Read more about the WFCA All-State Honors here