Wisconsin Athletic Hall Of Fame Will Honor Herb Kohl

The historic Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame this week announced that former Milwaukee Bucks owner, retired United States Senator representing Wisconsin and current philanthropist Herb Kohl will receive the Hall of Fame’s Community Leadership Award.  Mr. Kohl’s generous and successful efforts have made a lasting impact on athletics and the community at large throughout Wisconsin. Mr. Kohl, who was inducted into the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame in 2007, will be honored at the Hall of Fame’s 65th Anniversary Induction Event at the UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena on April 30, 2016.

A life-long Wisconsin resident, Mr. Kohl purchased the Milwaukee Bucks in 1985 to ensure NBA basketball remained in the state. Keeping the Bucks in Wisconsin remained a top priority for Mr. Kohl even as he sought new ownership for the team, making it a condition of any sale that the team remain in Milwaukee. Upon selling the franchise in 2014, Mr. Kohl graciously pledged $100 million for the construction of a new arena, further securing the team’s long-term future in the market.

Mr. Kohl has also generously supported the University of Wisconsin, donating $25 million for the construction of the Kohl Center. Considered one of the finest on-campus facilities in all of collegiate athletics, the Kohl Center is home to the men’s and women’s basketball and hockey teams.

“The Wisconsin athletic landscape as we know it would be incredibly different, and worse, if not for Mr. Herb Kohl,” said Brian Lammi, Executive Director of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame. “His leadership supporting athletics and his commitment to Wisconsin sports fans should be celebrated. The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame is honored to recognize not only what he has done in the past, but also what he is helping to build for the future.”

“There is no more deserving candidate for this great honor than Senator Kohl,” Bucks owner Wes Edens said. “His 29-year stewardship of the Bucks not only left a lasting impact on our organization and the entire NBA, but his unmatched generosity and commitment to the community have cemented his legacy in Wisconsin. The entire Bucks family congratulates the Senator on this terrific recognition.”

The April 30 Wisconsin Hall of Fame event will also feature the induction of Green Bay Packers all-time leading wide receiver and Super Bowl champion Donald Driver and record-setting former Badgers Basketball coach Bo Ryan into the Hall of Fame’s 2016 65th Anniversary Class. Packers great Jerry Kramer will also be in attendance to accept the Hall of Fame’s Legendary Team Award celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Packers victory in Super Bowl I.

Fans interested in celebrating with these Wisconsin athletic icons can purchase tickets now athttp://www.ticketmaster.com/event/07004F539410276E. This Monday only, the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame is offering fans the chance to get a free ticket to the event through a special Leap Day Sale. Fans who purchase three tickets to the event will get their fourth ticket free as part of the Hall of Fame’s “Leap Day 4-Pack.”

Tickets are also available at the Milwaukee Theatre Box Office, the Wisconsin Center Rotunda, select Walmart stores, or by calling 1-800-745-3000.

The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame is maintained through the support of community partners Associated Bank, the Official Bank of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame, Hupy & Abraham, Goodwill Industries, West Bend Insurance, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

The Wisconsin Athletic Walk of Fame, located on 4th Street in Milwaukee’s downtown sports and entertainment district, contains bronze plaques commemorating the 135 members of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame. The Walk of Fame is free and open to the public 365 days a year.


About the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame

Established in 1951, the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was created to honor distinguished members of Wisconsin sports history. Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame members include Vince Lombardi, Hank Aaron, Oscar Robertson, Barry Alvarez, Al McGuire, Bud Selig, Junior Bridgeman, Willie Davis, Herb Kohl, Bart Starr, Ab Nicholas, Bob Harlan, Fred Miller, Alan Kulwicki, Robin Yount, Bonnie Blair, Bob Uecker and many others. For more information, visit www.wihalloffame.com.