Wisconsin Main Street Awards

DE PERE, WI. April 17, 2015 – The Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) Friday recognized the best downtown revitalization projects of 2013-2014 at the 24th Annual Wisconsin Main Street Awards ceremony at St. Norbert College.


Tricia Braun, deputy secretary and COO of WEDC, was on hand to recognize the efforts by Main Street volunteers and staff for the historic preservation and downtown economic development efforts of communities in Wisconsin.


“The Wisconsin Main Street Program is a true success story that has revitalized downtown districts throughout the state and has provided a significant economic boost to the local communities,” Braun said. “This is a great way to recognize the amazing work being done by the volunteers and staffers who play a key role in that success.”


Wisconsin Main Street is a community development program administered by WEDC that targets Wisconsin’s historic commercial districts. WEDC provides technical support and training to Wisconsin communities to revitalize their business districts based on historic preservation developed by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Wisconsin’s has 36 Main Street Communities. Since 1988, Main Street communities saw more than 3,000 businesses open their doors and create 7,100 jobs, with nearly $1 billion in private investment taking place in those downtown districts.


In 2013-14, 90 new businesses opened in the Wisconsin Main Street communities, creating more than 450 jobs and generating $85 million in private investment.


The awards presented Friday night were:


Best Volunteer Engagement


Winner: Absolu-Tea, Absolutely Waterford


Best Digital Media Campaign


Winner: Definitely De Pere and Burnham Richards Advertising


Best Creative Fundraising Effort


Winner: New Years Eve Masquerade On Broadway, On Broadway, Inc. Promotions Committee (Green Bay)


Best Public/Private Partnership in Downtown Revitalization


Winner: “Businesses Go Dementia-Friendly”, Chippewa Falls Main Street and Dementia Coalition of Chippewa County


Best Downtown Special Event


Winner: Winter Wine Walk On Broadway, On Broadway, Inc., Green Bay

Honorable Mention: Applefest 2014, Tigerton Main Street


Best Façade Rehabilitation Project Under $7,500


Winner: The Nail Studio/111 S. Main St. and Oaks Development Group, Fond du Lac


Best Public Improvement: Public Art


Co-Winner: 2013 “Art in the Downtown” project, Positively Pewaukee

Co-Winner: “Come Knock on Our Doors” Project, Visit Beloit


Best New Business


Winner: Waseda Farms Market, De Pere


Best Retail Event


Winner: Ladies Nite Out, Sheboygan Falls Chamber-Main Street


Best Cooperative Business Marketing Campaign


Winner: “The Wedding Collection,” Downtown Fond du Lac Partnership


Best Upper Floor Rehabilitation Project


Co-Winner: Platten Place Apartments, Green Bay

Co-Winner: Mary Flanagan & Scott Kearney, 204-208 Watson, Ripon


Best Business Development Program


Winner: Holiday 2014 Pop-Up Series, Viroqua Chamber Main Street Board of Directors


Best Façade Rehabilitation Project Over $7,500


Winner: Modern Apothecary, Dr. Erin Merritt and Clovis Properties LLC, Kenosha



Best Image item/Campaign/Event


Winner: “Omro: A Great Place” Campaign, Omro


Best Business Retention Program


Winner: Focus on Energy Program, Platteville


Best Interior Renovation Project


Co-Winner: Starry Realty, De Pere

Co-Winner: Sanft Accounting & Tax LLC, Lake Mills


Best Public Improvement Project: Built Environment


Winner: Monroe Community Garden, Monroe


Best Storefront Display


Winner: Circle The Date, Marshfield

Honorable Mention: 2nd Hand Rose, Algoma


Best Historic Rehabilitation


Winner: CE Staples Building, Osceola Main Street Group LLC, Osceola


Best New Building


Winner: Gehl-Mulva Science Center, St. Norbert College, Performa and Miron Construction, De Pere


Best Adaptive Reuse Project


Winner: Ironworks Redevelopment: Hendricks Commercial Properties, Beloit


Connect Communities Award

Best Downtown Development Success Story-Under 5,500 Population


Winner: Rinehart Tobacco City Lofts, Edgerton


Connect Communities Award

Best Downtown Development Success Story-Over 5,500 Population


Co-Winner: Business Expansion and Relocation Guide, Village of Menomonee Falls

Co-Winner: Marvin W. Roth Community Pavilion, City of Janesville




Milestone Main Street Anniversaries


10 Years in 2014

·         Downtown Fond du Lac Partnership


15 Years in 2014

·         Platteville Main Street

·         Eagle River Revitalization Project


20 Years in 2014

·         Sturgeon Bay Visitor Center


25 Years in 2014

·         Chippewa Falls Main Street

·         Viroqua Chamber Main Street


15 Years in 2015

·         Community Improvement of Algoma

·         Watertown Main Street


20 Years in 2015

·         On Broadway, Inc., Green Bay


25 years in 2015

·         Main Street Marshfield

·         Definitely De Pere


Past Winners of “Best New Business” Celebrating 10 Years


Jason Meinholz & Marzena Noch-Meinholz

Soda Pops

Eagle River


Darin Shireman

Badger Brothers Coffee



Executive Director Years of Service Awards


Five Years:

Christopher Naumann, Green Bay/Kenosha


12 Years:

Elaine Kroening, Pewaukee


14 Years:

Michael Glime, Algoma

16 Years:

Virginia Kauffman, Tigerton

19 Years:

Kathy Wellsandt, Rice Lake


23 Years:

Craig Tebon, Ripon


2014 Volunteers of the Year


Sue Hepp, Algoma
Tiffany Warren, Beloit
Sherry Hoffman, Darlington

Amy Sorenson, De Pere
Gary Fawcett, Eagle River
Tracy Mathweg, Fond du Lac
Tim Dexter, On Broadway, Inc. (Green Bay)
Zohrab Khaligian, Kenosha

Mery Ellen Vinz, Lake Mills
Kate Clanton, Marshfield
John & Donna Glynn, Monroe

Sheila Jilot, Pewaukee

Steve Swift, Platteville
Sam Kohlhagen, Sheboygan Falls
Julie Mauritz, Tigerton
Howard Bryant, Waterford
Autumn Carew, Watertown
Jeremy Eineichner, West Allis
Kristine Zaballos, Whitewater


2014 Honorary Board Members


Ron Welch, Algoma
Malinda Obershaw, Beloit
Scott Hemauer, De Pere
Cindy Meinholz, Eagle River
Philip Shepherd, Fond du Lac
Peter Nugent, On Broadway Inc. (Green Bay)
Deanna Goodwin, Kenosha

Sarah Fitzgibbon, Lake Mills

Andy Hill, Monroe
Dr. Tad Diciaula, Pewaukee

Gary Olson, Platteville
Michael Kennedy, Sheboygan Falls
Clarence Natzke, Tigerton
Gil Amborn, Waterford
David Beduze, Watertown
Veronica Telfer, Whitewater



Wisconsin Main Street Hall of Fame Inductees


Lois TeStrake, Marshfield

Russ Roedl, Lake Mills

Joe Schinkten, De Pere